Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

YAY!!! I've got an EGG... Now... what to do what to do????

Mark
Mark Posts: 295
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Hi folks,[p]After a relatively short time here at the forum, I finally purchased the BGE... So, I am a rookie and I need some help.. (Psychiatric mostly... But that's another forum) Anyway, I would like to know what you eggspurts think about what I should cook first? I've got the gear, the beer, and the motivation. I would like to try some excellent recipies (if you would be so kind) and then report back on my findings. You see, I've never had even so much as a sniff of the burning lump or experienced the glorious rapture of a fruitwood smoke billowing from an Egg... I have never tasted a single morsel from one of these cookers. I am truly a virgin :) (well sort of)... I am being very truthful here. It is this forum that has convinced me to take the plunge. I think you folks are amazing and it is your dedication and faithful support that has convinced me that I must seek eggspertise... Thank you and I look forward to my first and my 1000th cook... ciao for now... Mark

Comments

• Mark, first thing I would recommend is to forget what the manual says about how much lump to use, load it up to at least the bottom of the fire ring. If you use 2 handfuls of lump like it says your temp will go down during a cook. Welcome to the wonderful world of egging, your life just got much better.
  • Rick G
    Rick G Posts: 185
    Mark,