Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Starting your fires

Options
Hi All,
I am still relatively new to this.  I have had my egg for a little over a year, however I watched no videos or anything until recently.  I am curious if any of you have videos of you starting your grills for low and slow or hot and fast cooks?  Or even of you cooking meat?  I know there are plenty of videos out there, but most I have seen I feel like the person making the video doesn't exactly know what they are doing.

I have been doing a lot of low and slow lately.  Most videos I see, they get their fire going for about 10 min, and shut the lid.  Keep the vents wide open until it hits about 250, then slightly open both dampers.  

That brings me to question 1.  With the bottom damper only open an inch or so, that shouldn't be enough air flow to get a good clean fire to burn your coal and wood.  Wood should smolder and this temperature and give a nasty smoke?  Perhaps I am doing something wrong?  By the time my smoke turns almost clear, if I look at my wood, it is all black and basically gone.

Should I get the fire going only for a few minutes to keep a small flame the entire cook? That would entail me barley starting the fire, and letting the temperature slowly rise with my plate setter in there.
I have been getting a pretty good fire to start so I have some nice hot coals.  But this results in me smoldering my wood chunks I put on.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Kansas City, Missouri
Large Egg
Mini Egg

"All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us" - Gandalf