Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Spatchcock turkey; direct or indirect ?

Looking for best practice from some of you folks that know more than I! Time is not particularly an issue. Any feedback much appreciated!

Comments

• bgebrent
    bgebrent Posts: 19,636
    Raised direct 375-400, skin up.  You'll love it.
    Sandy Springs & Dawsonville Ga
  • Kevvo
    Kevvo Posts: 8
    Newbie here, quick question; is "raised direct" simply grate w/o plate-setter or do I need an extender in order to "raise" grate? Thank you for your response!
  • bgebrent
    Need elevation to gasket level or a bit higher. Many options, cheap and expensive.  And Welcome aboard brother!  Please post your cook. 
  • I made a 12 pound spatchcock turkey today, raised direct. 375, 2nd grate on a couple of fire bricks from Home Depot. Perfection!
  • Kevvo
    Well, today I bought a 17 in. grid, some 4 in. bolts along with some washers & nuts and now am the proud owner of a $22 elevated grid! Thank you all for the feedback! Going to spatchcock my bird @ 375/400 raised direct (as suggested...). Assuming I need to put a drip pan on lower grid??
  • slovelad
    slovelad Posts: 1,742
    Kevvo said:
    Well, today I bought a 17 in. grid, some 4 in. bolts along with some washers & nuts and now am the proud owner of a $22 elevated grid! Thank you all for the feedback! Going to spatchcock my bird @ 375/400 raised direct (as suggested...). Assuming I need to put a drip pan on lower grid??
    Awesome! Can you post some pictures of it? I hVe been wanting to do one
  • Mickey
    Mickey Posts: 19,669