Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Baffled by the chunks

Options
I'm fairly new to the egg and have only smoked ribs a few times. Previously I've used wood chips but today used chunks for the first time.  I used 3 hickory and 3 Apple chunks. I put 2 chunks in the bottom of the charcoal then got the dome temp to 250. Then put 4 more chunks on top of the charcoal then the plate setter and waited about 10 min and then the spares went on.  I didn't foil them and it took about 4 hours. They turned out pretty good but I had no smoke ring and could hardly taste the smoke.  Not sure what I did wrong. Anyone have any suggestions? 

Comments

• Mattman3969
    Mattman3969 Posts: 10,457
    Options
    Smoke rings are pretty hard to achieve on the egg. So don't be overly concerned about that. Sometimes conditions are just right and you get that pretty ring but most times not. You can't taste the smoke ring so I quit worrying with it.  As far as your smoke taste, it sounds like you had the right amount of wood but maybe the chunks you added on top could have burnt off too fast. Maybe try mixing the same amount throughout the lump and see if that helps. 

-----------------------------------------

analyze adapt overcome

2008 -Large BGE. 2013- Small BGE and 2015 - Mini. Henderson, Ky.
  • blind99
    blind99 Posts: 4,971
    Options
    Agree w @Mattman3969 I rarely get a smoke ring. I think there needs to be more chemicals in the smoke like some nitrates. Maybe I'll throw some kingsford briquettes in a cook and see if that does it.