Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Food Tastes Too Smokey…Sometimes

Options
Hello everyone.  I've only had my BGE (Large) for 4 months and I am still learning the nuances of using it.  This is my first non-gas grill and I love it.  Wish I had purchased one earlier!  Initially I was overcooking everything, but I'm getting better at it.

Here's my question...on 2-3 occasions, the food has come out tasting way too smokey.  The smoke taste was very strong and tasted so bad we couldn't even eat the food (very disappointing).  One time was with boneless chicken breasts and then again with a pork tenderloin.  I didn't use any wood chips, just the BGE brand charcoal.  This was cooking direct at 400-425 degrees.  

Any idea what would cause this?  I don't think I'm doing anything differently than the other times which have worked out great.  One thing I can think of may be the amount of time from lighting the charcoal to putting the food on.  Is the BGE and the charcoal really ready when you're at your desired temperature?  Or should I let it burn for a certain amount of time regardless of already reaching temperature?  I asked the place where I bought it from and they had no suggestions.

Thanks in advance, and I look forward to learning a lot from this forum!

-David
KJ Classic and BGE MiniMax
Southeastern, MA

Comments

• WeberWho
    WeberWho Posts: 11,029
    edited October 2015
    Options