Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

My Bologna Has a First Name...

Options
Barbeque Bologna.  I've never done it before.  I found a loaf (if that's what it's called) at GFS and decided it was time to do it.  I scored it, slathered mustard on it and covered it in Dizzy Pig's Red Eye Express.  I cooked indirect at 300 for about 2.5 hours.  I didn't bother with cooking by temp because it's pre-cooked from a quality source.  A little after two hours, I peeked and saw the scores I made were pretty big, so I called it good.  Sauced it with some Stubbs Hickory I had.  It wasn't bad, but I think I would rather spend my money cooking something else.  Here's some pix.

Thanks for looking.
Flint, Michigan

Comments

• GregW
    GregW Posts: 2,677
    edited October 2015
    Options
    Looks good. I've never had it on the grill, but I'm really partial to a fried bologna sandwich with a great homegrown tomato.
  • johnmitchell
    johnmitchell Posts: 6,581
    Options
    That's got my name all over it..
    Greensboro North Carolina
    When in doubt Accelerate....
  • Danielson
    Options
    You can't go wrong with Koegels
  • KingtUT
    KingtUT Posts: 157
    Options
    Buddy of mine smokes his with a mustard sauce blend and its fabulous.  Cheap steak!! Gotta love it
  • texaswig
    texaswig Posts: 2,682
    Options
    I know bologna is all about hard times. But sometime it deserves some glory too. Nice job. 

2-XLs ,MM,blackstone,Ooni koda 16,R&V works 8.5 gallon fryer,express smoker and 40" smoking cajun 

scott 
    Greenville Tx
  • lousubcap
    lousubcap Posts: 32,382