Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Brisket failure. Help!

Options
phil28
phil28 Posts: 42
I'm new to using the BGE at lower temps, and today slow cooked a brisket at 250 degrees for 6 hrs using Dr BBQ's recipe here. 4 hrs on one side, 2 on the other. I then went to wrap in foil and add liquid coffee for another 2 hrs. But I took the temp of the brisket first, and while it should have been around 160 based on the recipe it was 205! Yes, I should have monitored the temperature earlier. The biscuit is 7 pounds, a normal cut, although I cooked half of it, cut perpendicular to the slab, so I assumed cooking time should be the same. Any suggestions? I intend to calibrate the BGE thermometer, but it's relatively new and has been accurate so far. The temperature in the dome does not seem to be that high by sense. Appreciate any feedback (other than go to In'N Out for dinner).

Comments

• Tettletime
    Options
    The short answer is that all cows are different. I've had 12 lb packers finish in less than 8 hrs and other 12 lb packers take 15 hrs. You can't predict how long the stall will last, unfortunately. Good Luck.
  • NPHuskerFL
    NPHuskerFL Posts: 17,629
    Options
    6 yrs egging and you're new to L&S?  I'm familiar with the recipe you've described. When I did it like this I did not flip it etc nor did I wrap except for FTC & then added a shot of black coffee and the cut I smoked was a flat only (not packer).  Considering you're not a newbie I think you already know on a cut like this you're checking for doneness using both IT and probe resistance (buttuh).