Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Full plate SGH!!! first Sous Vided meal, winner winner

Options
A lot of press about SV so...... I decided to get my feet wet and bought one, ANOVA.  This is my first try using a Prime Rib Eye that I've done caveman many times.  Well I have to say this is a winner.  Very easy to get perfect, set the SV and forget 130 degrees for 3 hours, easy to get great char in a cast iron pan on a 600 degree GBE fire. 

Sides were home grown tomatos, smoked ( on GBE) beets, and collards with ham (twice smoked on BGE).

The texture of the beef was perfect, you could cut it with a fork no knife needed.

Note: I could not believe the lack of overcooked meat on the surface, that any other method produces.
NEPA, Med egg,

Comments

• Monty77
    Monty77 Posts: 667
    Options
    That looks excellent, nice job
    Large BGE 2011, XL BGE 2015, Mini Max 2015, and member of the "North of the Border Smokin Squad" Canadian Outdoor Chef from London, Ontario, Canada

https://www.flickr.com/photos/monty77/

• SGH
    SGH Posts: 28,791
    Options
    This is my kind of meal. Brother, that is a fine looking pile of grub right there. That steak is money in the bank. Outstanding cook my friend. It almost goes without saying:

Location- Just "this side" of Biloxi, Ms.

Status- Standing by.

The greatest barrier against all wisdom, the stronghold against knowledge itself, is the single thought, in ones mind, that they already have it all figured out. 

• mahenryak
    mahenryak Posts: 1,324
    Options
    Nicely done!  Looks delicious.