Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Spin Me Some Pizza

RhumAndJerk
RhumAndJerk Posts: 1,506
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Ok, so I am still learning this whole kiln shelf setup. [p]When I arrived home on Friday, my wife meets me at the door and said, “Here is the dough. Here is the sauce. Here is the cheese. Go fire up the egg.” Well, I think that I can do that. [p]My wife taught me that the only true way to judge a pizza is for it to be plain, as in just cheese. That way you know the quality of two of the most important parts of a pizza, the crust and the sauce. Also, when a pizza is loaded down with stuff, the top of the crust has tendency to not cook completely. Stepping off soap box …[p]My hand was almost healed from last Sunday’s Jamaican Meat Patties, so I knew that I had to make some changes. I used a double load of fresh lump and light it. This time I stacked the spacers together in order to give height to the shelves. Then I placed the two shelves together. After I did this, I realized that I had forgot to replace KennyG’s Turbo Grate with the standard ceramic grate. Oh well, too late now.[p]“Where did sit that beer down?” The beer was Coors Extra Gold. I quickly found that one and a couple more. I had to transfer some beer from the downstairs beer fridge to the upstairs fridge.[p]The next change that I made was to close the bottom vent to about half way and I put the daisy wheel on at full open. About one hour later, the dome temperature read only 250 but I figured that the stones had to be hot. The egg base was not as blazing hot as it was last Sunday. [