Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Refurbishing a Small Egg, and Carts

Options
Hello all,

This is my first post on this forum.  I am new to the Egg but have purchased two for myself in the last several months, a L and and XL, and I find that this is at least as addictive as heroin (not that I'd know, of course).    So far I've done pork butt, baby backs, steaks, pork loin, thin crust pizza, deep dish pizza (doing a couple today), and beer can chicken.  Why the hell didn't I buy an egg twenty or thirty years ago?   Better late than never.

So I'm visiting my brother-in-law in near Cashier's, N.C. and he tells me he's got an Egg.  I get here and find it's an older small model.  The bands are rusting, the wheels are rusted, the gasket is crapped out, the daisywheel vent on top only swivels and doesn't slide open (and is rusting a little).   I couldn't take the size for a bunch of ribs I wanted to cook so I went out and bought him a new L two days ago.   In exchange he's donated this small one to me which I'll take back home and add to the other two, which leaves me with a couple of questions:

1) Where is the best place to get replacement parts for the small egg?  I need bands with springs, a new top, gasket material, wheels for the nest, etc.?

2) Can anyone suggest good plans for building a table/cart that will hold three eggs?  

Thanks,
Garry

The donated Egg:

The deep dish egg pizzas.  These puppies rocked!

Comments

• WeberWho
    WeberWho Posts: 11,029
    edited July 2015
    Options