Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

lid is frozen shut

Options
after a lot of cooking I decided to light a big fire to clean the egg. I tried to open the egg and I get the lid to budge. 

Any ideas? 

Comments

• DoofusOfTheDay
    Options
    Your gasket is fried. Get a putty knife and order a Rutland from @RRP
    Dittos on that.
    Gregg
    Large BGE Owner since December of 2013!
    Marietta, GA
  • dldawes1
    dldawes1 Posts: 2,208
    Options
    How much is "a lot of cooking" ?   I've been cooking for 1-1/2 yrs and have never had to do a clean burn.  

For the folks who do clean burns....how do you determine that you need one?  I must be missing something.

Donnie Dawes - RNNL8 BBQ - Carrollton, KY  

TWIN XLBGEs, 1-Beautiful wife, 1 XS Yorkie

I'm keeping serious from now on...no more joking around from me...Meatheads !! 

• gamason
    gamason Posts: 406
    Options
    Use you putty knife carefully and the gasket will be fine.  my egg is 2 years old, several clean burns with the gasket stuck twice. It is still working great!

Snellville,Ga.

LBGE

Minimax

• gerhardk
    gerhardk Posts: 942
    Options
    Go naked, I have been using my egg for the last few years without a gasket and it works fine.

Gerhard
  • Theophan
    Theophan Posts: 2,654
    Options
    dldawes1 said:
    For the folks who do clean burns....how do you determine that you need one?  I must be missing something.