Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

I am ashamed!

Options

I have to say, I have never done something so foolish before, but you know it happens sometimes.

I slow Cooked some ribs one day, (which were magnificent) and cleaned out the egg....(so I thought). Next day we left for vacation. I was gone for 2 weeks, it get hot and muggy sometimes here in KY. Needless to say, I have left the drip pan in the egg, now there is mold every where on the egg. Can anyone tell me how to fix this Issue? Do I Need to change out the Seal?

Comments

• DaveRichardson
    DaveRichardson Posts: 2,324
    Options
    load up with some lump, burn at 600-ish till the lump burns completely thru.  Then dust off and vac out.

LBGE #19 from North GA Eggfest, 2014

Stockbridge, GA - just south of Atlanta where we are covered up in Zombies!  #TheWalkingDead films practically next door!

• theyolksonyou
    theyolksonyou Posts: 18,458
    Options
    Time for a clean burn.  5-600 degrees till your out of lump. 
  • SmokeyPitt
    SmokeyPitt Posts: 10,490
    Options
    I have done the same thing many times.  You get excited to eat...shut down the egg in a hurry and get your grub on! 

Just load it up with lump, start a fire, and let it burn nice and hot for a while. 

If your gasket has mold hopefully it will burn off as well.  Unfortunately a clean burn might burn up the gasket as well but there is not much you can do about that.  You may want to go ahead and replace it with a rutland or another high temp gasket.