Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

SmokeWare Cap v1 vs. v2

Options
I've been using the original SmokeWare Chimney Cap for a few months now, and it's great. It might take a little longer to snuff the fire out (though I have no empirical evidence that it does), but the convenience over the combination of the BGE ceramic cap and daisy wheel makes it a no-brainier. Plus, it's practically 100% stainless steel. Nothing stainless steel can be bad.

I found out today that SW has developed the next version of Cap. This one has angled slots for improved low-temp airflow control, and a slightly different dome shape. Well... I've been experiencing a little temperature creep while using the Cap with my CyberQ, where I never had issues with the OEM stuff, so I started to consider purchasing v2. I spoke to Matt at SW today and explained. He suggested I close the Cap completely and let the fan do the work. Then I remembered there's a colleague of mine at work who's been coveting my SW Cap, since I showed him photos of my setup. I decided to pull the trigger on the new Cap, along with a Flat Cap (despite the fact it's for "purists" =) ) and just sell the clean v1 Cap to my buddy.

Does anyone have any experience with the v2 Cap? Mine is on the way, but I thought I'd start a thread for discussion. The differences might be minimal, but, hey... miring in the minutia of Egging is what we do here.
LBGE | CyberQ | Adjustable Rig | SmokeWare Cap | Kick Ash Basket | Table Build | Tampa, FL

Comments

• The Cen-Tex Smoker
    The Cen-Tex Smoker Posts: 22,961
    edited June 2015
    Options