Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Experimenting with flavor!

Options
watergirlb
watergirlb Posts: 21
Ok gang, I have been cooking on my LBGE for a couple of years now, and after using tried and true flavor combos, I have decided to do something a little different.  Today I have a smaller pork butt (about 5 lbs - it's just me and my husband for dinner) on the Egg today for some pulled pork.  The butt sat overnight in a Ziploc bag with an entire bottle of Allegros Balsamic marinade.  I fired up the Egg and soaked equal amounts of cherry and pecan chunk wood.  The butt was coated in straight molasses and rubbed with my own concoction of dry rub.  I used paprika, black pepper, dry mustard, kosher salt, brown sugar, chives and a touch of clove.  250-275 degrees on the Egg.  Updates to follow today. If any of you have some rub recipes or flavor combos that are different and delish, I'd love to try them!

Comments

• SmokingPiney
    SmokingPiney Posts: 2,282
    edited June 2015
    Options

Looks like you have the flavor section cornered, watergirlb. Your rub recipe rocks and that slab of meat looks great.

South Jersey Pine Barrens. XL BGE , Assassin 24, Weber Kettle, CharBroil gasser, AMNPS 
  • gdenby
    gdenby Posts: 6,239
    Options
    Looks like it will be wonderful.

I'm not familiar w. the Allegro marinade, but it's ingredient recipe looks good.

"Touch" of clove is the proper amount for me. I've made a few things w. small amounts of clove, but more than a touch, and I can't taste anything else.