Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Improvements on the BGE over the years?

Options
I'm new to the BGE having just purchased last month.  As I read through these forums I have seen people who have had their Eggs for years.  Along with that are inherent problems with any product.  Whether it be cracking, fried gaskets, etc...

Does anyone have a feel for any 'improvements' that BGE has made over the years?  With all of the information contained in this forum you'd think they would use it towards product improvement.  Take the gasket for example...have they upgraded their stock gasket at any point or is it the same one that they've always put on?

Appreciate the input.  At the end of the day I'm just looking for what things I need to watch out for on a newly purchased Egg.
North Pittsburgh, PA
1 LGE

Comments

• aukerns08
    aukerns08 Posts: 253
    Options
    I think they're still using pretty much the same gasket that they've been using for years.  As far as improvements go, I know they've made some changes to certain models over time.  For example the handle on the large wasn't as wide as it is now, I've heard they changed the way the XL dome opens to make the opening wider when it's open, and the nest for the mini has changed it's design.  The fire box also has changed, there is now a gap in it that wasn't there before to allow for expansion and try to minimize cracking.  Those are the few I know about I'm sure there's others but for the most part from what I can see they're few and far between and pretty minimal changes.