Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Rookie Pork Butt Question

I have 2 7.5 pound pork butts that i'm smoking up tonight on my LBGE.  Being this is my first try at using the BGE for a low and slow, should I expect the cook to take closer to 15 hours as this is the total weight of meat, or should I expect the cook to take 8 hours as this is the weight of the largest pork butt?

Any other suggestions for a first timer would be helpful as well.
Give a man a beer, he'll drink for the day. Teach a man to brew, he'll be drunk the rest of his life. - Anonymous.

Comments

• jcaspary
    jcaspary Posts: 1,479
    Figure on an hour and a half per pound for the largest piece.  Watch out at the end though.  All butts are different and will also finish at different times.  Pull each one when they probe like butter. 
    XL BGE, LG BGE, and a hunger to grill everything in sight!!!
    Joe- Strongsville, OH
  • johnnyp
    johnnyp Posts: 3,932
    +1

the largest cut is what you'll consider.  Have fun and don't stress.  Pork butt is a good choice for first low and slow because it's a very forgiving cut of meat

XL & MM BGE, 36" Blackstone - Newport News, VA
  • anton
    anton Posts: 1,813
    I usually go 8-12 hrs for a butt that size. You can always crank up the heat to meet your time for finishing.As the above have stated, it is a forgiving hunk of meat.
     Using a MBGE,woo/w stone,livin' in  Hayward California," The Heart Of The Bay "
  • GWizBrewing
    GWizBrewing Posts: 23