Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

PartyQ question..

Options
Hi. I am a newbie here. Just got a small egg. I also bought a PartyQ control for it because of it's size. I am going to fire it for the first time this Saturday. I will do a 4 Lb pork butt. I have a question though about the PartyQ. When it is installed.. What should the Daisy Wheel vent be set at?? Thanks
I live in Duluth, Minnesota

Comments

• Cowdogs
    Cowdogs Posts: 491
    Options
    It should be nearly shut.  I would say open the wheels so the slits are a width of a dime. 
  • tarheelmatt
    tarheelmatt Posts: 9,867
    Options
    Cowdogs said:
    It should be nearly shut.  I would say open the wheels so the slits are a width of a dime. 
    +1  

You will want an efficient fire going and you also want to hold in the heat that it's generating.  
    ------------------------------
    Thomasville, NC
    My YouTube Channel - The Hungry Hussey
    Instagram
    Facebook
    My Photography Site
  • Jeepster47
    Jeepster47 Posts: 3,827
    Options
    +1

The PartyQ fan can ONLY make the temp go up by pushing combustion air into the egg.  Since it has a "bottom vent" opening the lump continues to receive air flow, even when the fan isn't running.  You need to close the top vent down until non-fan airflow is throttled down such that the fire cannot continue to burn without the fan running.

When it's set up correctly, the top vent shuts the fire down and the PartyQ turns the fire up.  If your fan is running about 10~30% of the time, you have the correct balance.