Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Which one should I get?

Options
Hello! I am brand new to kamado cooking, only have used a weber. It literally flew off my deck and dented so I am in the market for a new setup and finally am going to get what I have always wanted! I wanted to ask in here even though I expect a BGE bias, I mean it is the main forum but still wanted to ask. 

Option #1 - Large BGE - store demo (was used to cook on multiple times) - Comes with new bottom base, plate setter, nest, wooden side tables, nest handler, and a SS chimney top cap. It does NOT come with the standard daisy wheel and ceramic snuffer. Lifetime warranty: $800

Option #2/2a: Kamado Joe Classic new or Big from the Costco roadshows. $780 or $1199 I believe.

Option #3: Akorn new with plate setter, cover, char-griller wireless thermometer. $320

For a new kamado cooker what do you guys recommend? Should I go cheap the first time? If going all out would you take a used BGE over the new Joe? This egg was not just used once, but the bottom base is being replaced with a brand new part. So it will be old top, new bottom hopefully no color difference lol. 

Thanks for the approval and I look forward to talking with everyone!

Comments

• nth78
    nth78 Posts: 154
    Options