Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

So I want to try a replicate Argentinean Asado on the BGE

Way back in the day, I was an exchange student and lived in Argentina for 1 year.  Asado was a way of life down there and I want to try replicating it on the big green egg.  Just wondering if anyone has tried this yet?  I am thinking that this would be raised direct with the lid up.  Won't be able to use thermometer that way, but I can still control the temp with the bottom vent.  Will probably used pecan chunk because that is what I have right now.
Johns Creek, GA - LBGE and a some stuff

Comments

• henapple
    henapple Posts: 16,025
    I'm waiting...@foghorn or @caliking might kick in.
    Green egg, dead animal and alcohol. The "Boro".. TN 
  • Foghorn
    Foghorn Posts: 9,795
    Thanks for the shoutout @henapple, but sorry - I got nothin. I've never done this. 

XXL BGE, Karebecue, Klose BYC, Chargiller Akorn Kamado, Weber Smokey Mountain, Grand Turbo gasser, Weber Smoky Joe, and the wheelbarrow that my grandfather used to cook steaks from his cattle

San Antonio, TX

• caliking
    caliking Posts: 18,727
    henapple said:
    I'm waiting...@foghorn or @caliking might kick in.

I have much to say on this subject, which I promise to post later. I've been in the bourbon and not had much sleep the past few nights , so I'm turning in.

#1 LBGE December 2012 • #2 SBGE February  2013 • #3 Mini May 2013
    A happy BGE family in Houston, TX.
  • Theophan
    Theophan Posts: 2,654