Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

New Member and First Time Ribs on BGE

Options
Hello Everyone!

This is my first attempt doing ribs in the BGE, I have done many racks over the years on my electric smoker and Weber Kettle, so I had some previous experience.  They turned out great, family loved them!  My only problem was getting the egg all set up quickly so the heat wouldn't rise too much when it was open (lid)  It started off at 300 and took about an hour to get back to 250.  Next time I will try to get the temps set better before putting the ribs in.
Thanks to this forum, there is tons of great and helpful information on here for new eggers!
Much appreciated!http://i1167.photobucket.com/albums/q638/stevancec/IMG_4219_zpspgqitdsv.jpg
Toronto, Canada  LBGE

Comments

• fljoemon
    fljoemon Posts: 757
    Options
    Let's try putting your pic in here:

LBGE & Mini
    Orlando, FL
  • fljoemon
    fljoemon Posts: 757
    edited April 2015
    Options
    Welcome to the forum and the cook looks great. Keep posting your cooks and hopefully you are now hooked!
    LBGE & Mini
    Orlando, FL
  • theyolksonyou
    theyolksonyou Posts: 18,458
    Options
    Welcome. That's an easy mistake to make. Don't let it get so hot starting out and catch it on the way up. Set your vents close to where you think they should be when you get about 50 degrees below your desired temp. It comes with practice. 

Nice first cook!
  • Ozzie_Isaac
    Ozzie_Isaac Posts: 19,094
    Options