Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Help, temperature in my BGE skyrocketed to 600 + as soon as I closed the lid

so I'm a newbie and I used my BGE for the first time today. It's a BGE small. I filled it up with BGE charcoal a little past the holes in the fire box as soon as I closed the lid the thermometer started to spike staying at 600+ no matter the vents maybe I needed to give it more time ? To settle or is a small too small to control ? Thanks in advance for the tips 

Comments

• theyolksonyou
    theyolksonyou Posts: 18,458
    Did you have a raging fire when you closed the lid?  You don't have to wait for lump to ash over like briquettes. 
  • DMW
    DMW Posts: 13,832
    Just a question here. Did you get a charcoal chimney full of lump nice and hot and then dump in the small? If so, yes, you are hotter than you want to be. If you are using a chimney with the small egg, just use a small amount of lump and dump it on un-lit lump in the egg.
    They/Them
    Morgantown, PA

XL BGE - S BGE - KJ Jr - HB Legacy - BS Pizza Oven - 30" Firepit - King Kooker Fryer -  PR72T - WSJ - BS 17" Griddle - XXL BGE  - BS SS36" Griddle - 2 Burner Gasser - Pellet Smoker
  • onedbguru
    onedbguru Posts: 1,647
    Once it gets that hot, all you can do is shut it down - or cook it turbo.  I cook burgers/steaks at about that temp anyway... 
  • lousubcap
    lousubcap Posts: 32,314