Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Autolock Hinge or Spring Hinge

Options
Newbie here and I am building a home for a large egg (yet to be purchased). I have come across directions that say the height of the lower shelf should be 17" if you have an autolock hinge or 15" with a springe hinge. Is the autolock hinge an aftermarket hinge, is it an option at purchase, or was it a design change?
Bloomfield Hills, MI | LGBE : AR R & B Oval Combo w/Extender and Sliding D Grid : Kick Ash Basket : Smokeware Cap : Smobot Beta

Comments

• DMW
    DMW Posts: 13,832
    Options
    Design change, all are spring hinge now.
    They/Them
    Morgantown, PA

XL BGE - S BGE - KJ Jr - HB Legacy - BS Pizza Oven - 30" Firepit - King Kooker Fryer -  PR72T - WSJ - BS 17" Griddle - XXL BGE  - BS SS36" Griddle - 2 Burner Gasser - Pellet Smoker
  • bob.bud
    bob.bud Posts: 297
    Options
    Thanks DMW! 

Bloomfield Hills, MI | LGBE : AR R & B Oval Combo w/Extender and Sliding D Grid : Kick Ash Basket : Smokeware Cap : Smobot Beta
  • stlcharcoal
    stlcharcoal Posts: 4,684
    Options

Autolock is OLD.....like 15+ yrs.  I forgot about that one.

Before that was an over center type of hinge on both sides that you pulled with the ash tool.  I would just fling the lid open hard enough to get it to hold, but do it too hard and the old single function daisy wheel would go flying.  Of course you were hunched over since the stand only held the Egg 2" off the ground.

Thanks for the memories.

• Little Steven
    Little Steven Posts: 28,817
    Options