Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

New to bge

Options
I recently received a bge XL from my girlfriend. I was curious about lump charcoal and will any brand work. I am 7 cooks and learning. First was a pork butt had trouble getting meat up to temp. But it's getting better. I'm about 60 mile from the nearest dealer with bge brand lump. I have used about 1 whole bag so far have one in waiting I'm new to bge and forums so bare with me on questions because there will be a lot. 

Comments

• blasting
    blasting Posts: 6,262
    Options
    I wouldn't be the guy to answer, but I will say Welcome Aboard.
    Phoenix 
  • Danny71
    Danny71 Posts: 108
    Options
    Thanks blasting
  • WeberWho
    WeberWho Posts: 11,029
    edited April 2015
    Options
    Big Green Egg lump is rebagged under the brand Royal Oak.  You're paying extra for the bag to say Big Green Egg.  Royal Oak is available at some big box stores such as Walmart.  Home Depot, Lowes, Menards should carry hardwood lump.  Might not be the best but available for future cooks
    "The pig is an amazing animal. You feed a pig an apple and it makes bacon. Let's see Michael Phelps do that" - Jim Gaffigan

Minnesota
  • shucker
    shucker Posts: 483
    Options