Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Ribs: rub the night before or just prior to smoking?

Options
I've cooked a lot of ribs in the past few years and they always turn out great.  I've removed silver skin and left it on, foiled and then didn't, sauced and left dry.  They've all been good and it just depends on what I'm in the mood for when I cook.   I'm going simple tomorrow:  3 racks of baby backs and 1 rack of St Louis ribs, all work just kosher salt, black pepper & granulated garlic.   One thing I've never tried is rubbing the night before and putting in the fridge overnight.   Will the salt dry the ribs out if it's on that long, or better penetrate and make them better?
Athens, GA
XL BGE, Large BGE and RecTec590

Comments

• st¡ke
    st¡ke Posts: 276
    Options
    No matter. No difference i mean

You'll often hear warnings against going very long with rub be ause it could give a 'hammy' taste. it's not possible to cure them in the least bit. Even after a week. 

Simply not enough salt o do anything. 
  • Mickey
    Mickey Posts: 19,674
    Options
    I go 30 mins for no other reason than that's how I have always done it. Most of the time it's "let's have ribs, run to the store". And that's all the time you got. 
    Salado TX & 30A  FL: Egg Family: 3 Large and a very well used Mini, added a Mini Max when they came out (I'm good for now). Plus a couple Pit Boss Pellet Smokers.   

• Nanook
    Nanook Posts: 846
    Options
    I rub them right before I put them on the Egg. Always turn out great. 
    GWN
  • st¡ke
    Options