Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Table finish question

I'm building my table and the frame is near complete. Would it be smart to finish the frame separately then place the top and shelves on or seal it together? Prob a stupid question, I've never done this before, but it seems I would have more or easier access to all of the frame before it goes together. BTW the entire table is cedar?i know there are a lot of beautiful tables on here with a lot of expertise. So what did y'all find the best way to seal/finish your tables
-Todd
Franklin N.C. LBGE and a SBGE

Comments

• jimithing
    jimithing Posts: 254
    edited March 2015
    I'm in the exact same boat right now.  Building a cedar table and have the base done - no top on it yet.  I think I'm going to let the cedar dry for a week or two and then try a finish.  I've got the boards for the top cut to length already.  I think I'll finish those on sawhorses and the install them once they're dry.  I have no idea if this way is better but it can't hurt.

I think most people use multiple coats of a spar urethane to finish.
    XL BGE
    Plano, TX
  • RiverDoc
    RiverDoc Posts: 572
    @jimithing I tracked down a friend who does this kind of stuff and he said it would be fine so I'm in the process of sealing my frame now then I will install my top and shelves and seal them after. Good luck on your table!
    -Todd