Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Leg quarters

Options
johnnyp
johnnyp Posts: 3,932
Alright guys, I'm new to the BGE universe and I'm cooking on an XL.  

Last night I tried to do chicken leg quarters and they didn't turn out great. I cooked at dome temp ~315 for 90 mins.  the fat rendered out of he skin, but the skin wasn't just crispy, it was almost leathery and tough.  Also, the meat was was moist, but the texture was rubbery.  

Thoughts? Ideas? 

This is has turned out perfect every on the old weber.  What did I do wrong on the egg?
XL & MM BGE, 36" Blackstone - Newport News, VA

Comments

• Chubbs
    Chubbs Posts: 6,929
    Options
    Most will tell you to cook to temp not time. What IT did you pull the chicken off at? What was your egg setup? The higher in the dome you get the chicken the crispier from my experience. Also, dry skin out in fridge for 24 hours and include corn starch in your rub for extra crisp. 
    Columbia, SC --- LBGE 2011 -- MINI BGE 2013
  • SGH
    SGH Posts: 28,791
    Options
    I cook leg quarters one of two ways. Indirect at 400-425 degrees or raised direct between 375-400 degrees. Works like a charm every time. If you are wanting to copy the charred Weber affect, then go with the raised direct option.

Location- Just "this side" of Biloxi, Ms.

Status- Standing by.

The greatest barrier against all wisdom, the stronghold against knowledge itself, is the single thought, in ones mind, that they already have it all figured out. 

• johnnyp
    johnnyp Posts: 3,932
    Options
    Chubbs said: