Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Natures Coast Eggfest...tips please?

I had mentioned, in my last thread, that I'm going to do my first Eggfest cooking and also that I'm new to this BGE game. I received a lot of advice for my first time cooking and I appreciate the help.

My decision has been made to do spatchcock chicken with a preserved lemon rub and try to do Margarita cookies while the chicken rests. I'm going to test the timing tomorrow by cooking two chickens.

My thoughts were two chickens every two hours for the three two hour periods cooking required. We have to cook enough to feed two hundred tasters with small samples. I can do the chicken, cut it up after it rests, and have the cookies baking. I would then do the next two chickens and cookies etc.

So does this sound like a decent plan? Am I missing anything? I assume I just cut up the chicken and put them in those small cups as people come up for tasting but I've never been to one so I'm not sure how to serve the chicken. The cookies I'll cut in smaller pieces and put the pieces in the little cups.

The Eggfest is March the 28th and the weather should be in the low 80's, I'll have a big cooler with the chickens already to put on the Egg, and a neighbor is going to help me.

Any tips on serving, my methods, or maybe I should change my menu is appreciated. And if anyone on the forum shows up I'll put extra tequila on your cookie glaze.   :)  Thanks.

Bill

From the deep south...land of saltwater fish...west central Florida

Comments

• Mickey
    Mickey Posts: 19,674