Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Help. Will out of date sauce kill me?

Options
I have a bottle of KC Masterpiece Private Reserve BBQ sauce. Date is May 2014. Got it at Costco who know how long ago, never opened, stored in kitchen.

I just opened it  and put it on pork chop before I noticed the sell date.

Will this poison me? :-)

Are these sell dates accurate?

(I don't much like the sauce... prefer Rufus Tiegue but ran out and found this.)

Thanks.

Comments

• Spaightlabs
    Spaightlabs Posts: 2,349
    Options
    You're gonna be a'ight.
  • LKNEgg
    LKNEgg Posts: 339
    Options
    Looks like you are still with us, so things are looking good!

Seriously, the amount of preservatives in that stuff would probably make it last for 10 years or more. Like the McDonald's hamburger on the shelf for 1 year with no visible change!
    Large BGE - 2014
    FB 200, KAB, AR - 2015
    Lake Norman area of NC
    The bitterness of poor quality remains long after the sweetness of low price is forgotten!

Nowadays people know the price of everything and the value of nothing!

• LKNEgg
    LKNEgg Posts: 339
    Options
    Also recommend a good glass of scotch neat to help knock down any bacteria that you may have ingested!
    Large BGE - 2014
    FB 200, KAB, AR - 2015
    Lake Norman area of NC
    The bitterness of poor quality remains long after the sweetness of low price is forgotten!

Nowadays people know the price of everything and the value of nothing!

• Doc_Eggerton
    Doc_Eggerton Posts: 5,321
    Options