Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

So I am getting into charcuterie thing.....

Options
Sea2Ski
Sea2Ski Posts: 4,088
In my years, I have learned that you should do your research, and it right the first time rather than take shortcuts. If you do not have the time to do it correctly now, when will you?  Etc... Charcuterie seems to be the model hobby/craft where this holds true.  I am just getting started, but I am already hooked. I got Ruhlman's book, and his other book 'Salumi'. Read them both. Reading more on the net everyday and learning. But I have questions which I hope will stimulate discussion and further my education on this topic through interaction.

Bacon - Made a few batches, and love it. Cost effective? It is close. Do I care? Nope. I like it, it is fun, so I will continue. 
Question to those with more experience than me:  What salt percentage do you aim for when measuring out your cure? Seems like 2.75% salt and 1.5 % sugar appeals to me. Barely salty when cooked. I now have other experimental batches going: 3.25%, 3.75%, 4% and 5%. I hope that 5% is not going to be a salt lick. If so, I guess I will be soaking it pretty long.

Pancetta - One of the above bellies will be made into pancetta. I am thinking the 3.75% one, since it appears on the end to be the one with the most meat.
Question to those with more experience than me: Did you just hang this out in your house to dry like Ruhlman says in the book? What was your personal experience? Any advise?