Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Brussels Sprouts

Options
Anyone have a killer recipe for some Brussels Sprouts? Having a lady friend over for dinner tomorrow night and they are her favorite veggies. Doing a sous vide filet, skillet potatoes, and black eyed peas, but I've never done Brussels before..

Need all the help I can get.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
LBGE 2013 - MiniMax 2015 - Seemingly every accessory the fine folks at CGS sell - Fightin' Texas Aggie till I die - Gig 'Em - Located in the bright lights of Dallas

Comments

• gdenby
    gdenby Posts: 6,239
    Options
    The big secret to brussel sprouts is to cut them in half lengthwise before cooking. The problem w. them is that there are chemicals on the outside that cook before the inside heats up enough, which leaves the inside bitter. But if the inside gets warm enough, the outerl eaves become bitter. By slicing them in half, all parts get cooked at about the same speed.

They also make really good slaw when carefully shredded w. a mandolin. I like to mix them w. some bacon when making slaw. But this Christmas, I served them w. candied pecans because my elder daughter is vegetarian. In both cases I use a mustard sauce w. a little lemon juice and honey.
  • Chubbs
    Chubbs Posts: 6,929
    Options