Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Smokeware Cap

Options
2»

Comments

• 4Runner
    4Runner Posts: 2,948
    Options
    Plus whatever on on the Smokeware cap. No issues on shutdown...unless you don't close it properly. I'm not an engineer but think you are really splitting hairs on the shutdown discussion. How much lump are we talking about assuming you don't do it right???? 1/10 of a bag over a year so $2.50? Go with what you prefer and be done with it. Both systems work fine but diffferent...both lookgood but different. Pros and cons to both. Enjoy and have fun.
    Joe - I'm a reformed gasser-holic aka 4Runner Columbia, SC Wonderful BGE Resource Site: http://www.nakedwhiz.com/ceramicfaq.htm and http://www.nibblemethis.com/  and http://playingwithfireandsmoke.blogspot.com/2006/02/recipes.html
    What am I drinking now?   Woodford....neat
  • stemc33
    stemc33 Posts: 3,567
    Options
    I enjoy reading the Smokeware reviews. I think they look really cool and it seems like it's easier to keep it set while cooking. I have a bad habit of not checking the DFMT after adding/checking food. I've had it move even if it's set so it shouldn't move. This is one of those items that if I broke my ceramic cap tomorrow, I'd order. I just have so many other priorities and a Smokeware cap isn't at the top. Also, as far as snuffing out the egg, the ceramic cap itself will snuff out the egg even with the bottom vent open an 1". Probably not as fast, but it will snuff it out. I occasionally forget that too. Even when I leave it open, I have plenty of lump for the next cook.