Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

lump leftovers waste not....

Options
Ok I might be stating the obvious..but what does everyone do with the little pieces of lump. Pile it on the top for simple cooks? Burgers etc. .I personally do this..I am a noob and this may tear the staunch fabric of thinking.

I would much rather be able to say I was glad I did than wished I had........

XL owner and purveyor of pallette perfection...

Homosassa....Mecca of Florida

Comments

• johnmitchell
    Options
    Someone on the forum mentioned that they bought 2 orange buckets from Home Depot and drilled holes in the bottom of one ( looked like about half inch holes), then placed the one with holes into the other one and filtered the ash from the smaller lump to use again...Sounded like a decent idea..
    Greensboro North Carolina
    When in doubt Accelerate....
  • Carolina Q
    Carolina Q Posts: 14,831
    Options
    Do? When they get small enough to fall through the fire grate, I scrape 'em out with the ashes. Until then, I just dump more lump on top when I need to. Never sort or filter. Lump is enough of a PITA without making it worse.

I hate it when I go to the kitchen for food and all I find are ingredients!                                                                                                                                                                                                                           

Michael 
    Central Connecticut 

• nolaegghead
    nolaegghead Posts: 42,102
    Options