Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

I need some feedback

Options
My father-in-law is retiring after the 1st of the year and I want to get him something nice to honor all those years of great service he gave. Been thinking about getting him a new grill. Now I know we are all Eggheads here but I know my father-in-law and a BGE isn't his style ... otherwise I'd get him one. He has always been a Weber kettle guy and loves cooking a good pork steak more than anything. I have been considering getting him a nice pellet grill like a Yoder or maybe a Traeger but I have zero experience with them. I think he'd like the simplicity of them and the set it and forget it aspect of them. I don't think him and the mother-in-law are huge fans of a lot of smoke on their food though. Would a pellet grill be the right choice? I'd hate to spend the money and him end up not liking it. I have also considered the Weber Platinum that has the big prep table off to the side and has propane feature for lighting the charcoal. What do you all think? What kind of grill should I get him?
My PitMaster IQ120 FREAKIN ROCKS!!!!!!! Current BGE arsenal: XL & MiniMax

Comments

• Foghorn
    Foghorn Posts: 9,846
    Options

How old and set in his ways is he?  If he is set on a Weber then the Weber Platinum would be the way to go. 

I have two friends with pellet grills that are really happy with them.  I'm not sure how smoky the food is off them though. 

I also have two friends with Char Griller Akorn Kamados that are very happy as well.  I'm a big fan of them and have cooked on them several times.