Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

rib roast technical question

Options
I am reading my standing rib roast recipe that I have been using since 2002.  It is amazing!  I didn't get my XL BGE until this calendar year so I want to cook it on there for Xmas.  My recipe calls for a room temp rib roast put into a 500 oven.  The time is 5min per lb roasting at 500 degrees.  It says to be as accurate as possible.  Meaning, if your roast is 5.53lbs X 5min per lb you are 27.65 or 28 minutes.  At the end of 28 minutes you turn the oven off and leave the roast in the oven for 2 hours without opening the door. 
Every year my wife and I argue about the smoke in the house and that is probably part of the tradition! 
I would like to use this method outside on the egg.  However, the egg really holds heat well so i'm wondering if it would work or if i would have a leather shoe after 2 hours.  What do you guys think?  Would the egg cool down at the same rate as an oven or should I just cook a rib roast the more conventional way for the egg?  Meaning slow roast reverse sear or steady medium range temp.

Thanks in advance!

Chester, MD

Comments

• Sea2Ski
    Sea2Ski Posts: 4,088
    Options