Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Shade Sail over Big Green Egg - Am I crazy?

Options
Egg and forum newbie here! Long time lurker, first time poster! LOL 

Anyway, I have a cove of a back patio that I want to start building out into a grillin' & chillin' station over time. I purchased some 12' shade sails to cover the patio with and give some shade (a pergola has been ruled out for now due to the odd shape, eaves, etc). It gets really hot back there right around the time I usually fire up the grill in the summer. I plan to mount them tomorrow (assuming the rain gives me a window) from rooftop to rooftop. 

BUT, I noticed tonight that the shade sail instructions say "Do not use a barbecue under the sails." What the?!? Geez. 

I think the sails will be about 5'-7' above the top of the egg. Am I crazy to just go for it? I think the instructions are just being cautious, so I need some practical (not legally binding) advice. I think their main fear is sparks floating up, but I cook with the egg closed 95% of the time. The only time it is open is when I open it to put food on or take it off. 

As a precaution I have considered building (as part of my future table) a tin covering (or something) over the egg to reduce risk. I have also thought about possibly painting the sails with some sort of flame retardant paint/sealer. 

Anyone got any ideas? Does anyone think I should back away from the edge? Or does this seem like it's ok to do?

Just chillin' and lovin' the eggin' life! Facebook • My Graphic Design Website

Comments

• EGGjlmh
    EGGjlmh Posts: 816
    Options