Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Spare Ribs - a bit dry

Options
Made spare ribs for today's lunch/dinner.  Went 275F for 3 hours, wrapped in foil with brown sugar, honey and margarine for 1 hour, and then back to grill without foil at 350F for 30 mins.  Forget where I picked up those instructions but they seemed like a good idea.  Overall, good, but just a bit dry.  I think next time will try 2 hours, then foil for 2 hours, then unwrap for final 30 minutes.  I've never done much BBQing before getting the egg, actually starting to enjoy this.  The IQ-110 and Maverick 733s I got from @stlcharcoal made it more enjoyable as soon as I started using them also.  I like not having to fiddle with vents and worrying about temperatures.  I guess if I BBQd more often and drank more beers sitting out there watching it, I'd be more adept at temperature control...
Gregg
Large BGE Owner since December of 2013!
Marietta, GA

Comments

• cazzy
    cazzy Posts: 9,136
    edited September 2014
    Options
    Yeah, I agree with LS...I think they were underdone.

When you picked up a rib, did the meat fall off the bone or did they hold on? Were they tough?
    Just a hack that makes some $hitty BBQ....
  • DoofusOfTheDay
    Options
    You are going the wrong way. You need to cook longer not shorter.
    Cook longer to make less dried out?
    Gregg
    Marietta, GA
  • NPHuskerFL
    NPHuskerFL Posts: 17,629
    Options