Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

CI grate

Options
I realize this is basic grilling however I really don't know. What is the CI good for I understand steaks but do they make good sear marks or is there a better way. And what else do you all cook on a CI grill? I'm still learning here and appreciate any and all help-
-Todd
Franklin N.C. LBGE and a SBGE

Comments

• Brisket_Fanatic
    Options
    Cast Iron grates are good for all cooks. They do provide better sear marks has they have better heat retention and transfer once heated up. Also like any cast iron make sure you keep it seasoned or it will rust.

NW IA

2 LBGE, 1 SBGE, 22.5 WSM, 1 Smokey Joe

• smokeyw
    smokeyw Posts: 367
    Options
    I have the cast iron grate and like it a lot however, when searing steaks I always go for my GrillGrate. Just google it and you will see. It is worth the money!
  • mlamb01
    mlamb01 Posts: 210
    Options
    One overlooked feature of the CI grate is that it has 2 different sides.  On one side the bars have a very wide surface.  This is good for things that might sink down into the space between the bars, like burgers, asparagus, fish, etc.  The other side has a narrow surface, and will put a darker mark on things like steaks.