Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

No Bark

I've been cooking on an XL egg for a couple of years now but never seem to get the results pictured here.
I cook mostly brisket or pork butts with a dry rub only, low and slow at about 230*, and rarely open the lid until the internal temp shows done. I prefer sliced so I usually take it off at about 185* or 190*. I use a DigiQ controller and the top vents are only about 1/8" open on the daisy wheel.
The finished meat tastes great and usually has a decent smoke ring but there is never any bark or what you would call "outside meat". I personally like the bark as a little chef's choice appetizer while I'm finishing the cooking and cleanup duties.
Any suggestions? Maybe bump the heat up for the last part of the cook??? If so, how hot and how long?

Comments

• Grillin_beers
    Grillin_beers Posts: 1,345
    Hey man, what kind of rub are you using?
    1 large BGE, Spartanburg SC

My dog thinks I'm a grilling god. 
  • badinfluence
    badinfluence Posts: 1,774
    Has to be the rub as I cook mine at 230 and always have a good bark
    1 XXL BGE,  1 LG BGE, 2 MED. BGE, 1 MINI BGE, 1 Peoria custom cooker Meat Monster.

Clinton, Iowa
  • fishlessman
    fishlessman Posts: 32,671
    ive only cooked 1 butt that did not have bark, i lit the lump from the bottom and not the top for that cook and have no clue if that was why, i cook around 230 dome as well. i do add some sugar to most rubs
    fukahwee maine

you can lead a fish to water but you can not make him drink it
  • Hi54putty
    Hi54putty Posts: 1,873