Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Help with Raised Direct...

I am still a newbie, looking to spatch a chicken with raised direct setting... which accessories are needed for this setting?  Do I need a second grid?  What is the best way to prop up a grid?

Thanks...

Comments

• Dobie
    Dobie Posts: 3,354
    Suggest a PSWoo2 or adjustable rig from the Ceramic Grill Store www.ceramicgrillstore.com
    Jacksonville FL
  • Grillin_beers
    Grillin_beers Posts: 1,345
    I bought some cheap fire bricks from lowes and use those to raise my grid to gasket level. Not as nice as a PSWoo2 but pretty effective if you don't want to spend the money.
    1 large BGE, Spartanburg SC

My dog thinks I'm a grilling god. 
  • I used bricks prior to getting the adjustable rig.  Both work.
  • THEBuckeye
    THEBuckeye Posts: 4,230
    edited August 2014
    I use three bricks too - on their side. Perfect height for raised direct and spatchcock, revere searing, etc. I've used the bricks since I bought the Large Egg in May. 

My PSWoo2 should arrive tomorrow! I'm getting that more for a 13"cast iron grate just able the firebox for searing, quick streaks, etc. I suspect I'll use to for raised direct too and ditch the bricks but the bricks work just fine. 
    New Albany, Ohio 

• mslaw
    mslaw Posts: 241
    If you get the woo make sure to get the woo CI just in case you buy a cast iron grate down the road
  • jcaspary
    jcaspary Posts: 1,479