Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Best of the Best

As a Newbie, I have this burning question.  What was the best thing you ever cooked on The Egg?  Careful...you may need to provide the recipe and method.  Thanks for your input.
XL...Round Rock, TX

Comments

• KiterTodd
    KiterTodd Posts: 2,466
    HA!  That is a loaded question certain to get several varied and more knowledgeable answers than mine!

I'm relatively new as well (6 months on the egg) so I'll pass on my feedback as a newbie.

The egg really shines on a low and slow cook like a Pork Butt/Shoulder or Brisket.  The Pork is easier.  But when you nail the brisket it is incredible.
    Ribs also good, and easier still. 
    I was surprised to find how easy it is to make a good pizza.  You will end up playing with temps and setup a bit.
    Steaks surprised me as a short cook that still gets the lump flavor as does fish.

I have cooked burgers, dogs, chicken breasts and veggies on the egg as well but do not find any noticeable difference over a gas grill.  Other than that I am cooking on my egg which is an event in itself!  :)

Make the pulled pork, though.  That'll make people go "wow!"
    LBGE/Maryland
  • fishlessman
    fishlessman Posts: 32,665
    edited August 2014