Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

My First Brisket and Murphy's Law

dstearn
dstearn Posts: 1,702
edited July 2014 in EggHead Forum
So I got up at 4 AM today to get the BGE XL started and start prepping the 9 LB Brisket. I have been using my Digi Q DX for about 2 years now and have finallyI mastered the art of starting the fire and ramping up the temperature. I was ready to graduate from Ribs and Butts to my ulltimate goal, smoking a brisket. Until, I discovered that my grill probe was no longer working. I am now using the meat probe hanging in from the daisy wheel to keep the temp at 250 dome. When I tried the placing the meat probe directly on the grid the temperature started to spike. I ended up placing the brisket on the egg one hour later than planned. It just goes to show the importance of having backup. I will be ordering two new probe replacements for that reason. At least I have my Thermapen handy to check the meat temp.

Comments

• SGH
    SGH Posts: 28,791
    @dstearn‌
    When it rains it pours my friend. That's the way it goes sometimes. Don't fret it though. Keep on cooking and good luck.

Location- Just "this side" of Biloxi, Ms.

Status- Standing by.

The greatest barrier against all wisdom, the stronghold against knowledge itself, is the single thought, in ones mind, that they already have it all figured out. 

• dstearn
    Thanks, I repositioned the meat probe back on the grill now that the egg has stabilzed, It is at 250 grid temp, Looks like the wires on the pit probe broke off.
  • lousubcap
    lousubcap Posts: 32,162