Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Fire Bricks with Table Nest?

Options
Laxin16
Laxin16 Posts: 62
edited July 2014 in EggHead Forum
Hi, 
Newbie here....I built this table last weekend and now i'm getting the Large Egg tomorrow. I'm planning on getting the table nest but what type of brick do i need under it? Can i use ceramic tile or do i still need fire bricks with the table nest? 

Please let me know. 

Thx, 
Laxin

Comments

• sofakingbald
    Options
    I'm no pro, but a 2-3" square slab should do the trick. Although, I have seen some with granite slabs and even a tripod of stone/brick for the egg to rest on. Keep looking around on the forum but I don't think you need the table nest if you lay down the right base.

BGE novice from Arlington, Texas

• B&BKnox
    B&BKnox Posts: 283
    Options
    I started with just a 2" thick paver under my egg but the wood under the paver got very hot during  pizza cooks so I then added a layer of fire brick on top of the paver.  My egg sits atop the 3 ceramic feet they used to supply with the egg a few years back.  The more times wood heats it tends to lower its flash point so one day the wood could start on fire rather easily.  I took the safe route.
    Be Well

Knoxville TN
  • Laxin16
    Options
    Thanks for the replies...I just got off the phone with dealer and they can order the table nest for $30. However, he told me it's not needed. They are going to throw in a grand square paver which the egg will sit on.