Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Short ribs?

Options
Alrighty brothers and sisters - I've never done these before but they were calling my name! (I actually stopped for bison ribs, but they are frozen and will have to wait for another day.) I'm torn between low and slow with just a rub or the APL recipe with fleur de sel. Anyone care to chime in?
XL, JR, and more accessories than anyone would ever need near Olympia, WA
Sandy

Comments

• DMW
    DMW Posts: 13,832
    Options
    Do you have a whole rack or cut down? Either way I would go with a simple rub of either 50/50 salt/pepper or 2:2:1:1 Salt:Pepper:Onion Powder:Garlic Powder and got low n' slow til done, about 200* or til you can probe like soft butter.
    They/Them
    Morgantown, PA

XL BGE - S BGE - KJ Jr - HB Legacy - BS Pizza Oven - 30" Firepit - King Kooker Fryer -  PR72T - WSJ - BS 17" Griddle - XXL BGE  - BS SS36" Griddle - 2 Burner Gasser - Pellet Smoker
  • PNWFoodie
    PNWFoodie Posts: 1,046
    Options
    I've just got what you see on the plate...about two pounds worth.
    Sandy
  • DMW
    Options
    I didn't see the pic the first time for some reason... I haven't done boneless short ribs before, so not sure if they will be different. But I would think they will be similar. The other option is to smoke them for a couple hours, then braise them to finish them. Which may be similar to APL's recipe, but not familiar with that.
    They/Them
    Morgantown, PA