Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

First Trex NY Strip

Options
I should mention that until Memorial Day, my family had never owned a charcoal grill, much less an egg! In addition, hubby always did the grilling, so I am a complete novice!!

Well, for my personal first cook, I decided to tackle a steak. Rookie mistake in that I tried to sear when the temp hit 500. Should have waited for 700-800. So, I definitely overcooked it. If I want just a little pink inside, what temp should I take it off the egg? 135 or so?

Thanks for the helpful advice here! I'm learning a lot reading and lurking... :)

PS: We're getting porcelain tile this weekend to create another barrier between the egg and the deck FWIW.

LGE in da house.

Bucks County,  PA

Comments

• cssmd27
    cssmd27 Posts: 345
    Options
    No big deal.  We all learn and I still make mistakes all the time.  It's actually part of the joy of getting to know how to work your equipment.

But, I will say that a fully "mature" fire with a dome temp of 500 and a lowered grid will usually be pretty darn hot.  I do mine on cast iron grid lowered with the spider and have to flip every 30 seconds or so with a total cook time of about 3 min or less for standard 1.5 in. steaks.  I've never cooked at 700+, much less with a lowered grid.

Even when I mess up, things coming off the Egg usually taste pretty darn good.