Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

My first brisket

Options
I'm new to the BGE community. I got my first Egg about a month ago. I got the XL due to the fact that I have a family of 7. After a few cooks of burgers, sausages and dogs, I decided it was time to try some real food. I bought a 15.43 lb brisket from my local Costco. Very nice marble look on one side, lots of fat on the other. I trimmed the fat side down substantially. I used a rub recipe from Famous Rooster BBQ after watching his You Tube video. I let the brisket sit in foil in the rub for 7 hours. I started building my fire around 9:30 Saturday night. Had some trouble because I didn't close down the damper and daisy wheel soon enough and the Egg got too hot. It was peKing at 275 or so. After some work, I got it down to 220. I then added a water pan and the meat. This was at 11:40. Then the temperature dropped dramatically. It fell to 180. I opened the damper slightly and now I have had 199 for the last hour. It is now 1:35 AM Sunday. My brisket now has an internal temp of 91. I'm hoping to take this off at 3 PM, wrap in foil/towel, place in cooler until I meet everyone at the lake at 5:30. Am I on track? Should I bump temp up a little before I go to bed? Any suggestions greatly appreciated. Here are pics of the meat and then my rub. Finished pics to come later this afternoon. Thanks again everyone.

Comments

• lousubcap
    lousubcap Posts: 32,378
    Options
    First up-welcome aboard and enjoy the journey.