Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Good quality knives?

Options
13»

Comments

• nolaegghead
    nolaegghead Posts: 42,102
    Options
    Here are my lucky stabbin' knives. 

Options
    "I guess since I'm going to build my own set, the price range is $100-200 per knife.  I'm not ready to go the custom route yet.  I'm new to this whole cooking thing and would like to gain a lot more experience before making a decision on what I actually need.  I'm leaning towards Shun or Henckel at this time but will try to actually hold them before I make a final decision.

I will be buying the Tri-Angle Sharp-maker and practice on the crap knives I have.

Thanks for the advice and I will keep you in mind when I get to the point of ordering a custom knife."

Getting a sharpener is a really good idea. You may find your crappy knives are not so crappy after all. As I started buying better knives, I decided I needed to learn to sharpen. Bought lots off stuff at 2nd hand stores. Many were crap, would not hold an edge. Some were mediocre, worth sharpening and using but nothing spectacular. A few were quite good.

My old Sabatiers, once properly sharpened, returned to their original quality, and remain in constant use.

Both Shun and J.A. Henckels are good knives.

While I've ogled custom knives for years, the cost continues to give me pause.