Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Had my first flash back

Options
I've had my large egg for over a year now and I knew about the potential for flash back. So I decided to grill up some burgers for the family, had the coal lit in three spots, closed the lid and set everything to what I thought was 350f setting. 10 minutes later at the right temp I slowly "burped the lid" and then when I opened it the flames flashed onto my arms. I am a firefighter and have seen lots of fire but the thing that scared me the most was that I slammed the lid back down without thinking about it. I thought I might have cracked my egg!!. Singed the hell out of my arm hair! Wife was laughing.
St. Johns County, Florida

Comments

• Tjcoley
    Tjcoley Posts: 3,551
    Options
    Been there, done that, as have most of us. Probably the best reason to have a gasket. Cushions the blow when you slam the lid.
    Mickey Posts: 19,674
    Options
    You can now be called an EggHead ^:)^
    Salado TX & 30A  FL: Egg Family: 3 Large and a very well used Mini, added a Mini Max when they came out (I'm good for now). Plus a couple Pit Boss Pellet Smokers.   

• nolaegghead
    nolaegghead Posts: 42,102
    Options
    While startling, those flashbacks are rarely fatal.

Welcome to fully-vested egghead status.
    Options
    MaC122

First of all... Thank-you for your service.
    Second, you can learn a lot from The Naked Whiz and here's his page on flashbacks. You can view the video on the "experiments" page.

http://www.nakedwhiz.com/flash.htm