Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Deal fell into our lap. Transitioning from a Weber Kettle... help?

Options
2»

Comments

• Fred19Flintstone
    Fred19Flintstone Posts: 8,168
    Options
    I am a kettle veteran. The egg is much easier to control temps and it doesn't dry out your food. Water baths are not needed in the egg. The screen over the lower vent will arrest the Sparks so that's not a problem. Pull the trigger. Many people on this forum (myself included) expressed regrets to not buying an egg sooner than they did.
    Flint, Michigan
  • ads75
    ads75 Posts: 391
    Options
    I always use the vent screen at the bottom. And for the top, I have it open while my electric starter is in (about 7-10 minutes), and then close it while it warms up.

I also don't think they wood sell wooden tables if they thought it was in increased fire risk.
    Large BGE, Mini BGE
    Morgantown, PA
  • gdenby
    gdenby Posts: 6,239
    Options