Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

What am I doing wrong with this egg?

Options
I have had my Large egg for over a year and my experience has been hit and miss with grilling and smoking.

What's crazy is I have a friend who's egg is about 2 years old and I cook on it all the time with him and I do not experience the same performance on mine.  It's like my egg is a lemon.

I suspect my major issue is airflow, but I ensure my pit is cleaned of all ash, I know i'm using dry royal oak charcoal.  I use a looflighter to light the pit in several spots.  My gasket is in good condition, I never see any smoke leak out, and the dollar test provides plenty of drag all around the pit.  I also calibrated my temp gauge in boiling water recently.   So i'm wondering if its the fire ring, fire box, or draft door that's causing my issues.

An example was I did a pork butt the other day I got the pit up to 320, put the plate setting in, and the temp dropped down to about 160 took 30 mins for it to get back up to smoking temps and the meat was not even on.  I also used a full firebox of lump and after 12 hours of smoking most of the lump was burnt to ash I had hardly any left over.

Another issue recently was with burgers, temp gauge said about 500, and when i opened the pit i see a faint glow but no real flames, the burgers came out looking grey and no grill marks.  I used fresh ground meat so its not the food quality.