Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Royal Oak!

Comments

• Jupiter Jim
    Jupiter Jim Posts: 3,351
    I'm sorry to report that I just don't see all of the bad problems with Royal Oak and I have been using it for 8 years. Yes I get that some other brands might be better but in the end a few pieces of rock have no effect on a cook. When I see one person talking up one brand more than others it makes me wonder why? Lump is wood that has been turned into lump and how much different can it really be? I do respect that some of us have our personal preference when it comes to lump but I see no reason to bash another product over and over. I would try any lump that I can easily purchase and if it was really that much better I would use it. The only way to really know is to do two cooks side by side and see how the food taste in the end. Happy Egging with what ever lump you like! :)>-

I'm only hungry when I'm awake!

Okeechobee FL. Winter

West Jefferson NC Summer

• Focker
    Focker Posts: 8,364

Couldn't agree more Jim, the charcoal snobbery is amusing.  "O...M...G, I just got a rock in my RO, eww."  Next thing you know, someone will complain their hands got too dirty loading their egg.  

Look into how this stuff is made, rocks are gonna happen.

Rant mode, quickly turned off.

Brandon
    Quad Cities
    "If yer gonna denigrate, familiarity with the subject is helpful."

• stlcharcoal
    stlcharcoal Posts: 4,684
    @henapple I have not tried Rockwood. I have not seen it in my area - St. Aug/Jacksonville Fla. I am not opposed to giving it a try though.